Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Owl City: Shooting Star EP Review

It’s been less than a year since Owl City released his sophomore Universal Records project All Things Bright and Beautiful. But while Adam Young prepares for the release of his highly anticipated third album this summer, he is giving his fans a peek at the new CD through the four-song Shooting Star EP, out today! Once again, Owl City is back with his dreamy, spacey tunes, but this time with an even more positive message than ever before.

Owl City’s latest radio single, “Shooting Star” opens the EP on that familiar dreamy note. The message in this track is amazing, reminding the listener that when everything around them is the darkest, that’s when we can shine the brightest: “When the sun goes down and the lights burn out/ then it’s time for you to shine brighter than a shooting star/ so shine no matter where you are/ fill the darkest night with a brilliant light/ cause it’s time for you to shine brighter than a shooting star/ so shine no matter where you are tonight.” This is probably the best track off the four-song Shooting Star, and I love that Owl City takes advantage of his footsteps in both the Christian and mainstream audiences to share this message.

With a whistling-like opening, “Gold” has a strong dance/pop melody and follows very nicely. There are cool vocal effects and sweet relationship lyrics: “I don’t even need stars in the night/ I have found my treasure/ All I need is you by my side/ so shine forever/ Ooo I know you’re gold.”

With a melody similar to “Deer in the Headlights,” “Dementia” features Mark Hoppus and has the humorous lyrics we’ve come to love from Owl City. The lyrical repetition makes for a wonderful sing-along, especially the standout line, “Dementia, you’re driving me crazy!” This track has more electric guitar than most of Owl City’s works which is a nice change. Surprisingly, “Take It All Away” closes the album on a sad note. However, because of the booming techno drumbeat, the track is still a wonderful listen. It speaks of breakups after a longtime relationship: “You gotta know that you tear me up when you say you wanna take it all away, take it all away…” The pre-chorus is equally despairing, ironically having an addicting tempo: “So if you’re gonna go and leave me in a lonely grave/ I won’t let it show, until you finally float away.”

What can I say? The Shooting Star EP makes me very happy, and I’m sure it will do the same for every listener. Owl City’s message of shining brightly in the darkest night is something that we can all take to heart. Plus, his futuristic, spacey music is addicting and fun. This EP is excellent, and I dare say it’s Owl City’s best work yet!

Rating: 4.5/5
Release date: May 15, 2012

Track listing:
1. Shooting Star
2. Gold
3. Dementia
4. Take It All Away


  1. I am so happy Owl City is releasing more music. Even though his songs are not exclusively christian,they are catchy, and encourages listeners in positive ventures.

  2. Amazing review ! I Love Owl City :) Amazing songs :D


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.