Monday, May 7, 2012

Ben Cantelon: Everything in Color Review

When we become a follower of Christ Jesus, do our eyes become opened to a world of color – of new opportunities to share Christ with everyone? Do we get new vision and direction? New challenges?

That’s the question that UK worship leader Ben Cantelon asks through his sophomore project with Kingsway Records, Everything In Color. It’s obvious through one listen that Ben has his heart set on worshiping the King of kings. The eleven-worship tracks off this album will definitely have the listener singing along in no time. Some songs are slower and worshipful, while others are upbeat anthems. But all of them are heart-felt and full of praise, all the while contemplating the Great Commission, and our calling as disciples of God.

The keyboard-infused title track opens the album on a contemporary note. It’s easy to get lost in the description and metamorphic lyrics of this breathtaking track: “The world comes alive/ You have opened my eyes/ everything I see is in color/ no more black and white because I’ve seen the light/ everything I see is in color…” I love this refreshing and new type of worship that Ben Cantelon has to offer.

“New Day,” the album’s first single, is an upbeat and energetic worship track that celebrates that we are new creations in Christ Jesus. It could almost be one of Hillsong United’s, as even Ben’s vocals sound very comparable to JD Douglass’! I’m sure Hillsong United fans will find this track, and the rest of the album, to be very enjoyable for that reason. “My Guardian,” a little less upbeat, but still strong and powerful, is taken from Psalm 23 – reminding the listener that God is our Shepherd Who guides us every step of the way. The track emphasizes that “goodness and mercy shall follow us all the days of our lives,” which I found to be very cool. It also has a Rush of Fools sentiment to it.

“Savior of the World,” already being adopted in church worship services, is a powerful, guitar-packed, heart-felt declaration of praise. I think tracks like this are the kind that we will sing eternally in heaven! “My Deliver” follows, sounding much like Matt Redman’s “Never Let Go” (no surprise, since Matt actually helped co-write the album). It again borrows lyrics from Psalm 23 – that no matter what happens to us, God will never leave or forsake us. What a beautiful reminder!

Full of strings, piano, and light drums, “Be Exalted” is simply spectacular, while “Lord Strong and Mighty” becomes a little more upbeat. Coupled with “Love Came Down (I’ve Found a Love),” these songs have Chris Tomlin sentiments to them, very rooted in Scripture. They are tracks that you can sing along to and be planting Scripture into your heart. That’s what worship sound be, and Ben Cantelon does a good job of keeping the tracks engaging and inviting – they never get mundane.

A song of complete surrender, “Through the Cross” makes the reminder: “Only through the cross we are saved, only through the cross.” The album closes with “Worth It All” and “Love Divine (Purify)” both of which are composed of light guitar picking. “Worth It All,” in particular, is one of my favorites off the record, with the resonating lyrics: “I let go of all I have just to have all of You/ and no matter what the cost, I will follow You/ Jesus, everything I’ve lost I have found in You/ When I finally reach the end, I’ll say, ‘You are worth it all!’” It builds perfectly as it goes along. With strings and tight harmonies, “Worth It All” is a very laid back and worshipful track about communion, making for a great closing to Everything In Color.

Kingsway and Integrity Records have been putting out some fantastic worship releases lately, but in my opinion, this is one of the best! Ben Cantelon’s Everything In Color is very refreshing; it’s Scripture-packed, touching, worshipful, and you can’t forget about Ben’s fantastic vocals!

Rating: 4.5/5
Release date: May 8, 2012

Track listing:
1. Everything In Color
2. New Day
3. My Guardian
4. Savior of the World
5. My Deliverer
6. Be Exalted
7. Lord Strong and Mighty
8. Love Came Down (I’ve Found a Love)
9. Through the Cross
10. Worth It All
11. Love Divine (Purify)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.