Monday, March 26, 2012

TobyMac: Dubbed and Freq'd Review


TobyMac is one of Christian music’s most beloved hip-hop artists. As one-third of the 90s trio dcTalk, TobyMac’s solo projects shot to the top of Christian music charts immediately with his debut, Momentum. Tonight, his latest project, featured several radio singles that topped Christian charts, including, “Get Back Up,” “Funky Jesus Music,” “City On Our Knees” and the title track. And while TobyMac finishes up his fifth studio project, slated for release in summer of this year, he is back with his third remixed project, Dubbed and Freq’d: A Remix Project. The remix album features both Toby’s chart-topping singles and fan-favorites from his previous two albums, Portable Sounds and Tonight.

Normally, I’m not a huge fan of remixed projects, but Dubbed and Freq’d is a great one! It’s probably because of the musical variation and the numerous producers that lent their hands to remixing one of the twelve tracks. Whether it be Beckah Shae’s husband/producer “Shoc’s” take on “Lose My Soul,” adding his piano pop to the mix, the Capital Kings’ mix of “Tonight,” or the X-Zach’d futuristic take on “Start Somewhere,” the album adds electronic effects to most of the twelve tracks, and as a fan of dance pop and disco, I found all the the tracks to be vibrant and full of energy.

There are a few quirks with Dubbed and Freq’d, but I suppose that is to be expected from a remixed project. Some of those quirky features include the chipmonked vocals on “Start Somewhere” (not throughout the whole track, thankfully), the omission of Skillet’s lead singer John Cooper from “Tonight,” the super fast lyrics of “No Ordinary Love” and a few other portions.

But overall, the project breathes new life into these tracks. “Made To Love” doesn’t sound much different, but has a stronger tempo for the chorus, while “Showstopper” has a slight disco twist and vocal effects to TobyMac’s vocals. “City On Our Knees” retains the same tempo and vocals, but the electronic tempo makes the track more engaging and so do the turbulent sound effects during the chorus. The “Telemitry Remix” of “Hold On” is probably the most melodic of them all, only changing the tempo to a bit of a “trance” sounding tempo. “Get Back Up” doesn’t have the best of a change to it, but the drums are stronger, especially because they continually stop and start throughout the chorus, and there is a piano melody during the bridge that doesn’t exactly fit the melody that Toby is singing, but is still fantastic.

“Boomin’” and “Ignition” both appeared on a special edition of the Portable Sounds album, which I think is a little cheap for those who already have the album, but they are fantastic, futuristic mixes. “Captured” is a bit more serene, with scaling pianos in the background.

I think this album will hold fans over easily until TobyMac’s next full-length releasing in the summer of this year. His third remixed project Dubbed and Freq’d is definitely his best remixed project yet, and I believe he selected the best of his songs from his past two albums for remix. Most of them envision a techno, electronic, dance/pop sound that evokes the listener to get up and move – a great exercise soundtrack! :)

Rating: 4/5 
Release date: March 26, 2012

Track listing:
1. Made to Love (Telemitry Remix)
2. No Ordinary (G-Man Remix)
3. Showstopper (Capital Kings Remix)
4. City On Our Knees (Golden Snax Remix)
5. Tonight (Capital Kings Remix)
6. Hold On (Telemitry Remix)
7. Get Back Up (Broke Remix)
8. Boomin’ (UTB Remix) featuring Shonlock
9. Lose My Soul (Shoc Remix)
10. Captured (KP Remix)
11. Ignition (Hot Wired Remix)
12. Start Somewhere (X-Zach’d Remix)

1 comment:

  1. Great review! Really want to get a copy of this album for myself!


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.