Friday, March 9, 2012

All Sons and Daughters: Season One Review

Leslie Jordan and David Leonard, better known as All Sons & Daughters, released the six-song EP Brokenness Aside on Integrity records last summer. The duet followed it up with the Reason to Sing EP this January, causing fans to eagerly anticipate a full-length project. Now fans can own both EPs on one full-length collection titled Season One, with the addition of the incredible new tracks "Dawn to Dusk" and "Your Love is All Around." A bonus album, included with the CD, has extra worship resources and video contents for the viewers.

The acoustic album Season One features fifteen refreshing worship tracks, many co-written with Paul Baloche and Mia Fieldes. All the songs from Brokenness Aside appear first in order, the acoustic and harmonious "Alive" opening the album, followed by the upbeat and fun "Let It Shine," which features piano that adds to the strength of it. A simple song of worship "All the Poor and Powerless follows," paving the way for the title track off their debut EP, "Brokenness Aside," a very harmonious track that will have the listener singing along in no time, reminding them that God takes our brokenness and makes it beautiful. "I Am Set Free," another upbeat track of God's goodness and thanksgiving toward Him, and "Your Glory," full of cello and Leslie and David's wonderful vocals, both also from the Brokenness Aside EP follow nicely. "Dusk to Dawn" follows as the first original off Season One, acoustic guitar and piano accentuating the wonderful vocals and stilling worship from All Sons & Daughters. From the chorus, this line is especially an encouraging standout: "Tomorrow's freedom is today's surrender/ we come before You, lay our burdens down/ we look to You as our hearts remember/ You are the only God, You are our only God!"

Next follows the seven tracks from the Reason to Sing EP in order, beginning with the poignant "Reason To Sing" and "Oh Our Lord," both speaking of having something to sing even during the trials of life. The cello makes both very touching, but "Oh Our Lord" has a more upbeat sound to it, more of thanksgiving then heartbreak; it also borrows lyrics from the book of Psalms. Each remaining track off the Reason to Sing EP, featured on the Season One album, is melodious and extremely worshipful. "Wake Up," one of my personal favorites is more upbeat, calling believers to action, and it builds very well with the strong choral background. And lastly, the original "Your Love is All Around" concludes the Season One album, having a melody very similar to "Mighty to Save." On the slower side of things, it declares the faithfulness of God and contemplates how we find ourselves in Him. The track ends with a verse from the "Nothing But the Blood of Jesus" hymn, which fits very well.

I had not personally had a chance to check out the Reason to Sing EP before this Season One album, but I have quickly become a fan of All Sons & Daughters. Their heavenly harmonies, mostly acoustic worship (with a handful of upbeat, celebratory tracks spread throughout), and encouraging lyrics combine excellently. This is an album for fans of Jenny & Tyler and JJ Heller to check out. It is very well done!

Rating: 4/5
Release Date: March 13, 2012

Track listing:
1. Alive
2. Let It Shine
3. All the Poor and Powerless
4. Brokenness Aside
5. I Am Set Free
6. Your Glory
7. Dawn to Dusk
8. Reason to Sing
9. Oh Our Lord
10. Spirit Speaks
11. Buried in the Grave
12. All Praise to You
13. Wake Up
14. Reason to Sing (Reprise)
15. Your Love is All Around

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.