Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Jamie K: Never Gonna Stop Review

On January 1st, 2012, Jamie K released her latest album Never Gonna Stop, an endeavor she hopes will inspire people, especially the youth, to follow Jesus. Jamie K's music is very unique, taking on a hip-hop, urban sound with a Scripture-packed twist. This makes her a great alternative to many artists played on secular radio, and comparable to Christian artist Beckah Shae. Though Never Gonna Stop is not her first album, Jamie has definitely found her sound and her message, rooted deeply in Scripture.

"All I Do" kicks off Never Gonna Stop with a live feel, and is, hands down, the best song on the album. The electronic effects mixed with Jamie's vocals, intentionally in a monotonous melody, speak of how we live only to serve Jesus Christ.

Several of the tracks off Never Gonna Stop weren't my favorite, but ironically, they are possibly the ones that have the best message, and therefore are still very enjoyable. "Justified and Sanctified" is one of those, speaking of how we are made brand new through Christ's offering for our sins. The piano hip-hop track "Jesus Is" has a message straight from John 14, that Jesus is the way the truth and the life. "Never Gonna Stop," the title track, follows with a message of eternity -- that we will never stop praising God for what He has done for us, nor can we because He is good beyond words. It's a sort of a celebratory track, very upbeat and happy.

"Have You Ever" is only a minute long, but has a powerful message encouraging the listener to just believe what the Bible says and live on that alone! "Sacrifice" follows with a cool deep electronic effect. Though the vocals are a bit drowned out, the lyrics speak of how we often refuse to believe what the Bible says, taking a complete U-turn from "Have You Ever," the preceding track.

Starting with a slow piano sound, "Gonna Fight It" then explodes into an adrenaline packed track about fighting the enemy and his lies -- a very cool listen that evokes listener participation. Strings compose "Who You Are," which also has a bit of a mysterious feel. It speaks of all the attributes of God -- that He sets the captives free, that He created us, and most importantly, that He is all we need. Even though it has a hip-hop twist, "Set Me Free" is very beautiful, especially the standout line: "Set me free, I'm falling for You..." "Just Wanna Fly" closes Never Gonna Stop, appropriately with a futuristic feel about flying away with Jesus, and riding about the circumstances of life, being lost in His presence, and having a deep desire to know Him more.

I have to be honest -- with first listen, I wasn't completely used to Jamie K's Scripture infused hip-hop, but with a deeper listen, I enjoyed it very much. Granted, not every track is going to be on repeat, but her lyrics breathe truth and God's word, many of these tracks containing irresistibly catchy tempos. "All I Do," "Just Wanna Fly," and a few others from this album will be making it to my 5-star "Go List."

Rating: 3.5/5
Release date: January 1, 2012

Track listing:
1. All I Do
2. Justified and Sanctified
3. Jesus Is
4. Never Gonna Stop
5. Have You Ever
6. Sacrifice
7. Gonna Fight It
8. Who You Are
9. Set Me Free
10. Just Wanna Fly

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.