Monday, January 30, 2012

Jon Bauer: Forevermore Review

Canadian worship leader Jon Bauer has recently enjoyed success. He has already released several projects to Canadian iTunes, and now Jon releases his U.S debut, a ten-track album titled Forevermore. Passion rings out in Forevermore, which already features a couple of hit songs and church anthems.

The upbeat and exciting “Our God” opens the album, speaking of how there is “no one like our God,” and sings of His attributes. It’s a great start for the album, followed by “Light of Another World.” A brilliant track, it speaks of longing for Heaven, and speaks of how justice reigns there, and the things we see here on earth help us to know that “we were made for another world.”

“Come and Save Us” brings to mind Chris Tomlin’s “Our God,” though this song is more upbeat and fun as it speaks of how God is our Savior and deliverer. Musically, it has a Revive sentiment, and it’s repetitive lyrics are sure to get stuck in your head in no time. The serene “Beautiful Name” with booming bass speaks of the simple answer that we can find in Jesus Christ, the beautiful Name. It is a contemplative track that offers much hope.

The single “Chasing After Me” is a fun but simultaneously worshipful duet with Laurrel Barker (whose vocals definitely added a ton!). It’s comparable musically to Francesca Battistelli’s “This is the Stuff,” speaking of how God’s love chases after us and captures us. The stronger “A Prayer Away” speaks of how we often feel like God is so far away, but we can find Him by simply uttering a prayer. This touching song with a powerful message is only made more enjoyable by the backing strings.

“Fall On Me” has a classic feel to it, a plea for God to pour His power over us, while the heartfelt and timeless “Forevermore” is a track that makes it easy to sense the presence of God in every word. A prayer that our life would be our worship service to God, “Life of Worship” follows, with nice guitar work and tambourines. Based on Romans 12, “Life of Worship” has to have some of the best lyrics I’ve ever heard in a worship song – so Scriptural and right on. The upbeat “Hosanna” follows, a wonderful song of exaltation to our God. And if you’re wondering if it’s a worship song you’ve heard before, yes! It’s a cover of the version made popular by Aaron Gillespie on his worship project. Though personally, I would have to say in all, I have enjoyed Jon Bauer’s version more thoroughly.

Forevermore is a magnificent worship project! I’ll definitely be looking forward to hearing more from this polished singer/songwriter. The Scripture-packed songs, the musical variety, and the worship experience derived from one listen is well worth the listen.

Rating: 4/5
Release date: January 3, 2012

Track listing:
1. Our God
2. Light of Another World
3. Come and Save Us
4. Beautiful Name
5. Chasing After Me
6. A Prayer Away
7. Fall Over Me
8. Forevermore
9. Life of Worship
10. Hosanna

1 comment:

  1. Good album review I liked it. Looking forward to getting the album as soon as I can. I also seen he is coming to my church with Michael W Smith in May. I hope to see him then along with Michael W Smith too.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.