Sunday, November 6, 2011

Leigh Nash: Hymns & Sacred Songs Review

It’s been five years since her last solo project, but now the legendary Leigh Nash returns with her latest project Hymns & Sacred Songs, one of three records in the works on Kingsway Records. By offering her own renditions of beloved hymns and revamping others, Leign Nash delivers a powerful and inspiring worship album that will have you singing along in no time. The organic and timeless feel is an added bonus!

The simplistic bluegrass “Savior, Like A Shepherd (Blessed Jesus)” kicks off the album, a prayer for guidance through life, after which comes “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” to which Leigh Nash created her own melody. Very harmonic, this golden version of the beloved hymn will have listeners singing along in no time, as easily as they do to the original!

“Isaiah 55,” a nice contemporary track, speaks of how there is nothing our Lord cannot do, after which comes the heart-felt “O Heart Bereaved and Lonely,” a powerful Fanny Crosby hymn that Leigh adapted the melody of, but kept the lyrics the same. She also perfectly adds a heavenly touch of piano and stunning harmonies.

Leigh’s rendition of Keith & Kristyn Getty’s “The Power of the Cross” follows, probably not quite as good as the original, but nevertheless, her heavenly vocals and serene music definitely do it justice. “Give Myself To You” has a more upbeat, pop tempo than the majority of the album, in a wonderful track of surrender to God, while “Come, Ye Thankful People, Come” is the first original off the album. It was quite surprising to know Leigh Nash wrote it, as it almost sounds like one of the powerful hymns you’ve heard growing up in church! It’s a blissful track, praying that the Lord of the Harvest would come and take us home to be with Him.

“Blessed Redeemer” follows suite, followed by “Out of My Bondage,” an acoustic guitar-based track celebrating finding freedom in Christ. Aaron Keyes’ powerful worship anthem, “Song of Moses” is covered by Leigh next, and as one of my favorite songs by Aaron, I can safely say she does a wonderful job of covering it, though it is more lulling than the original.

Finally, a nice set of tracks close Leigh Nash’s Hymns & Sacred Songs album – “Praise the Lord Who Reigns Above” and “Be Still My Soul.” The first, a Charles Wesley hymn, is a timeless praise track, and the nice touch of strong electric guitars certainly added a ton to this rendition, and Leigh’s building vocals were definitely another highlight. Finally, “Be Still My Soul” is a poetic and heavenly closing, commanding our soul to praise the Lord at all times.

Leigh Nash’s Hymns & Sacred Songs album is her first solo project in five years, and she most certainly did a bang-up job with it! The glorious hymns, Leigh’s angelic vocals, plus the serene music and melodies combine to form a beautiful and heavenly project!

Rating: 4/5
Release date: November 8, 2011

Track listing:
1. Savior, Like a Shepherd (Blessed Jesus)
2. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
3. Isaiah 55
4. Oh Heart Bereaved and Lonely
5. Power of the Cross
6. Give Myself to You
7. Come Ye Thankful People, Come
8. Blessed Redeemer
9. Out of My Bondage
10. Song of Moses
11. Praise the Lord Who Reigns Above
12. Be Still My Soul

1 comment:

  1. Good album review. I like it. Looking forward to getting this album as soon as I can. I loved her first album called Blue On Blue. I know this is going to be real good album from her too. Just surprising she didn't do a version of Amazing Grace as it is real good hymn and popular hymn too.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.