Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Josh Caterer: The Heart of Christmas EP Review

Josh Caterer is best known for being the lead singer of Smoking Pipes, but now he returns with a five-song Christmas EP, titled The Heart of Christmas, set for release November 15th. This delightful EP is timeless, and its fun, country twist makes it quite a sensation.

The peaceful title track opens things up, and Josh’s country voice fits the contemporary country style perfectly. This opening track reminds the listener that the fact that “God sent His only Son” is the heart of Christmas, and the reason we celebrate the season. More upbeat musically, “The Baby From Bethlehem” tells the Christmas story from the view of one of the shepherds out in the field, as he hears the good tidings of great joy and goes to see the newborn King. Clearly, the timeless country track and unique view of the story is very enjoyable.

The beautiful, guitar-strumming version of “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing” is also wonderful, though Josh changes up the melody, one that you will find yourself singing along with ease after one listen. Next, Josh covers the children’s classic “Conroy the Gingerbread Man.” You can’t help but smile as you listen to the magical tale of the gingerbread cookie waking up and hiding from those who want to eat him. Also humorous, “Austin Bound” closes The Heart of Christmas, speaking of being warm during the Christmas season by moving to Austin over Chicago or other cold cities.

I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect from Josh Caterer, but The Heart of Christmas is a wonderful Christmas EP. It’s timeless and creative, plus the country twist that was added was most certainly enjoyable. Check out this EP if you’re looking for something innovative this Christmas season. I guarantee you’ll enjoy it!

Rating: 4/5
Release date: November 15, 2011

Track listing
1. The Heart of Christmas
2. The Baby From Bethlehem
3. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
4. Conroy the Gingerbread Man
5. Austin Bound

1 comment:

  1. Good Christmas review I liked it. I will have to check out this artist and album as soon as I can.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.