Monday, November 28, 2011

Jason Bare: Have You Heard Review

Jason Bare released his album Beautiful Design earlier this year, with the successful #1 Christmas single “For The First Time.” Now, Jason releases his first Christmas project titled Have You Heard? With five Christmas songs and carols, Have You Heard is a fantastic Christmas album, a must-have for the Christmas season.

A children’s choir opens up the album on a heavenly note, as piano and Jason’s magnificent vocals make up “Have You Heard?” imagining the glory of that first Christmas. This wonderful track then builds up a key, and Jason’s vocals are held out, making for a simply spectacular opening track. And with much description, “Night When Christ Was Born” speaks of the hope that was born on that night, and how it changed the world in one second – another heavenly Christmas song.

Jason Bare’s cover of “What Child is This?” is one of the best I have heard yet. The haunting piano and faint techno drums combine perfectly with Jason’s very flexible vocals. He changes the melody of the chorus and revamps it slightly, but the core remains the same. Strings also come in later, setting one in the Christmas mood like no other carol quite can. “A Way In A Manger,” with a powerful duet and choral effects, speaks of the mystery that God would send His Son in the form of a baby, who would make a way for us to have peace with God. And lastly, “For the First Time,” a very timeless reminder of what God’s love did for us on that first night, closes the album perfectly.

I have no hesitation in saying that Jason Bare’s Have You Heard Christmas EP is one of the best Christmas albums you could add to your collection! It’s a glorious and heavenly collection of Christmas songs that contemplate the gift of Jesus and what His love has done for us.

Rating: 4.5/5
Release date: November 1, 2011

Track listing:
1. Have You Heard
2. Night When Christ Was Born
3. What Child is This?
4. A Way In A Manger
5. For The First Time

1 comment:

  1. Good review of this Christmas EP from Jason Bare. I will have to check it out as soon as I can.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.