Monday, October 3, 2011

Kutless: This is Christmas Review

In the past few years, Kutless has dropped us a Christmas song or two, which have been featured on various Christmas rock collections. “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear,” “Mary Did You Know?” and the all-new “This is Christmas” left Kutless fans wondering when the group would release a Christmas album? And now finally, the wait is over with Kutless’ six-song Christmas collection dubbed after their hit Christmas track “This is Christmas.”

With strings and strong electric guitars comes the opening “Oh Holy Night.” Jon Micah’s flexible vocals and the strong backing make this version of “Oh Holy Night” one of the best renditions yet, and one that is so easy to begin singing along to as soon as you hit “play.” Christmas bells and piano bring in “This is Christmas,” a poignant track about what Christmas is all about. It reminds the listener that though the traditions of Christmas trees, presents, mistletoe, and lights are all enjoyable, “What is Christmas if there never was a Savior wrapped in a manger?/ What is Christmas without Christ?” Truly, this all-new Christmas track from Kutless is a gem!

It was both awesome and surprising to hear Kutless cover “Breath of Heaven,” a traditional carol about Mary’s struggle with bearing the Son of God. Though I loved the previous versions I had heard, they all sounded gloomy, whereas Kutless’ version is hopeful and helps the listener contemplate the courage Mary had during the birth of our Lord and Savior. The chorus, strong with pounding drums, is completely perfect, and the strings were definitely a great addition. The previously released “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear” almost doesn’t sound like Kutless at all, except for the vocals from Jon Micah. Nevertheless, this classic comes alive by Kutless, as choral effects, tambourines, drums, and more progress the track excellently throughout. A short instrumental in the middle is a definite highlight from both this Christmas cut and the EP as a whole.

Probably my favorite carol, Mark Lowry’s “Mary Did You Know” is up next, previously released on X Christmas. This track builds perfectly at its climax, the powerful bridge. Jon Micah’s high vocals also were accentuated in this moving Christmas single. The all-new “Beautiful” closes the EP with bells and piano, complete with both acoustic and electric guitar, imagining the first Christmas – the star in the East, angels singing, and the beauty of the whole story.

Definitely, Kutless’ new This is Christmas EP is a real treat for the Kutless fan. You’ll definitely enjoy Kutless’ rendition of several beloved Christmas carols, but the highlight may just be the band’s creativity in bringing us two original Christmas songs! This EP is a must-have for Kutless fans, and is also one of the most wonderful Christmas collections to date!

Rating: 5/5
Release date: October 4, 2011

Track listing:
1. Oh Holy Night
2. What is Christmas
3. Breath of Heaven
4. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
5. Mary Did You Know?
6. Beautiful


  1. Wow sounds awesome! :D I always liked Kutless' Christmas songs, so I can't wait to listen to this album!

  2. Good EP review for the Kutless Christmas EP. I hope to get the EP as soon as I can.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.