Friday, August 5, 2011

Steven Curtis Chapman: ReCreation Review

Steven Curtis Chapman is practically a legend in Christian music. Yet, even with a 20 year+ experience in the Christian music, and 50+ GMA Dove Awards, this beloved singer releases his 17th album, Re:Creation to Sparrow records August 2nd, 2011. But with this album, Steven returns to his classic pop sound as he delivers six all-new tracks, as well as remaking several of his well-known tracks. He also includes the popular “Morning Has Broken,” featuring vocals from his son Caleb. These combinations make for an enjoyable album from Steven Curtis Chapman, most comparable to his award-winning project Declaration.

The upbeat radio single “Do Everything” immerses the listener into Steven’s enjoyable pop sound, creating a track very similar musically to “Dive.” With “Do Everything,” Steven reminds the listener to “do every thing that you do to the glory of the one who made You… to bring a smile to His face, to tell the story of grace with every move that you make and everything that you do.” This track was simply perfect, and it was awesome to hear some new, but classic sounding music from Steven again. The more acoustic “Long Way Home” has a bit of a country feel to it, a track about how with the Lord’s help, we will get through any trials in our life, even if it does feel like we are taking the long way home.

Steven next brings life to the 90s classic “The Great Adventure,” adding more of an acoustic feel to it, but definitely making good use of pounding drums. “Dive (Deeper)” has almost a Celtic feel to it, but also sounds very serious and almost a bit haunting, making for a very enjoyable new take on this beloved SCC hit. “All That’s Left” is a bit mellow, but speaks of how all we really have to give is love and is all that matters. It is largely based on 1 Corinthians 13, so it was very enjoyable to hear this beloved chapter of Scripture put to music.

“Heaven In the Real World,” this time made up of acoustic guitars and strings was nice to hear again, as was “Speechless,” which was much slower and also made up again of acoustic guitars. But because “Live Out Loud” was acoustic with a funky pop beat, I actually enjoyed it more than the original! Then, one of my favorite Steven Curtis Chapman songs, “For the Sake of the Call” (featured on his fourth project by the same name), and “Magnificent Obsession,” were very slow and acoustic as well. They did have a slight drumbeat, making them  still enjoyable to take a listen to.

Remember that Steven Curtis Chapman single featured in Veggietales’ It’s A Meaningful Life, “Meant to Be”? That song is on here, too! Another original, the track reminds the listener that they have a purpose and aren’t here by accident. The strong strings at the ending were a very nice asset to this track. “More to this Life” is recreated as well, this time with a bit of strings but a lot of acoustic guitars, making it sound almost sad.

The mellow “Morning Has Broken”/”Sing Hallelujah” mixture featuring Steven’s son Caleb and a ton of choir effects was very angelic and moving, obviously chosen to be a part of this project because of Steven’s daughter Maria, putting a very serene and moving ending to Steven’s Re:Creation project.

It was great to hear some new music from Steven Curtis Chapman! Some of the tracks on this project are remakes, and some are brand new, but all of the tracks combine to create a refreshing acoustic album. Re:Creation is a must-have for fans of Steven Curtis Chapman!

Rating: 4/5
Release date: August 9, 2011

Track listing:
1. Do Everything
2. Long Way Home
3. The Great Adventure (Recreated)
4. Dive (Recreated)
5. All That’s Left
6. Heaven In the Real World (Recreated)
7. Speechless (Recreated)
8. Live Out Loud (Recreated)
9. For the Sake of the Call (Recreated)
10. Magnificent Obsession (Recreated)
11. Meant to Be
12. More to This Life (Recreated)
13. Morning Has Broken
14. Sing Hallelujah


  1. He IS amazing and def a legend! He and his wife amaze me with the power of their faith and their honesty. Mary Beth's book about the loss of their daughter was so well done. I can't wait to get this album too!

    Please feel free to stop by: Trailing After God

  2. Thanks for a great blog. Forgive me for being a stickler for accuracy, but "For The Sake Of The Call" was SCC's 4th release, not the debut which was "First Hand." Otherwise, good review.

  3. @Mel: Thank you for your comment! I am really happy to see SCC still going strong after that accident. Mary Beth's book definitely shed a lot of light on that!

    @Robert: No problem at all! Thank you for pointing that out. It's been changed! :)

  4. Wowsa!! Great review. This is one CD I'm gonna get. I love Celtic music and I also LOVE the "Great Adventure" single, so this sounds like a winner. :)

  5. Good album I liked it. I liked the new songs and other older songs he did and make them sound different. Real good album and one of my favorites.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.