Thursday, July 7, 2011

Matt Redman: 10,000 Reasons Review

Chances are, you are familiar with Matt Redman, the UK singer who penned such popular worship anthems as “Heart of Worship” and “You Never Let Go.” But even if you haven’t, his brand new live worship album, titled 10,000 Reasons is a great introduction to his music.

“We are the Free” is a perfect intro into Matt Redman’s 10,000 Reasons project, a strong anthem speaking of our freedom found in Christ Jesus. Following, “Here For You” is exactly what you would normally expect from Redman – a bit of a slower worship song, a reminder that we are gathered in honor of Jesus.

The gorgeous “Holy” reminded me at first of Natalie Grant’s “Your Great Name,” beginning with beautiful piano, as this timeless worship song borrows lyrics from Revelation, describing Jesus’ beauty and wonderfulness. The beautiful title track was awesome lyrically, taking lyrics from Psalm 103, speaking of how there are 10,000 reasons for our soul to bless the Lord. Also cool about this title track was the congregation participation.

“Fires” kicks up the energy again with a strong track, containing booming drums, and speaking of how God will keep the fires burning, and is a prayer that He would light our lives with a passion for serving Him. “Never Once” follows as a powerful reminder that God is faithful and will never leave us nor forsake us, while it slows things down to a more adult contemporary sound.

“Where Would We Be” was simply amazing, with profound lyrics, reminding us that we would be no where without Jesus, and speaks of how His love has changed us. The more upbeat “We Could Change the World,” speaks of how we could change the world through the power of God, and how we cannot make the change on our own. Personally, I found this track to be somewhat mundane, but the chanting of the congregation on this track was somewhat enjoyable.

“Magnificent,” containing cool vague rhythm guitar, is a simple song of praise to God, that reminds me of Hillsong’s A Beautiful Exchange album, while the more upbeat “Oh This God” is a prayer that we would shine for God, and states that our God will never fail, and that we will be even through the end of time. 10,000 Reasons ends off with the gorgeous “Endless Hallelujah,” composed of beautiful piano, and backing strings. Building up awesomely by the bridge, this stunning track put a wonderful ending to 10,000 Reasons.

Matt Redman’s 10,000 Reasons project is a fantastic live worship project, and is definitely one you should add to your collection if you are a fan of Hillsong Live, Michael W. Smith, or even if you are an all-time fan of Matt Redman’s. You will enjoy the timeless worship that Matt Redman has to offer, and will find this a project that will bring in the presence of God when you press play.

Rating: 4/5
Release date: July 12, 2011

Track listing:
1. We Are the Free
2. Here For You
3. Holy
4. 10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)
5. Fires
6. Never Once
7. Where Would We Be
8. We Could Change the World
9. Magnificent
10. O This God
11. Endless Hallelujah

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.