Saturday, April 2, 2011

Rebecca St. James: I Will Praise You Review

We've waited five years for new music from Rebecca St. James, and it is finally here with I Will Praise You, a ten-track worship project. This project contains a few treats, as Rebecca covers several popular worship tracks including Matt Redman's "You Never Let Go," and Hillsong's "You Hold Me Now," but also adds several new worship tracks of her own.

The title track opens the album with booming drums, as Rebecca sings a powerful worship song about choosing to praise God through whatever we are going through: "Whatever the storm/ whatever is lost/ whatever it takes/ whatever the cost/ I will praise You/ I will praise You." Next, Rebecca covers Matt Redman's familiar "You Never Let Go." Normally, I would be very hesitant to hear an overused track like this get covered, but I honestly enjoyed Rebecca's upbeat version very much, and I thought that hearing a female vocalist cover this track was a refreshing change.

The radio hit "Shine Your Glory Down" was honestly not my favorite track from the album, but it was probably the closest track on the album to her previous works, as the track is a cry to God for Him to shine His glory down and show us His face. "You Sill Amaze Me" is a timeless worship track co-written with Mia Fieldes based on Ephesians 2, and is followed by the similar-sounding "In A Moment," based on Revelation 19: "Alleluia, alleluia/ hear the sound of Heaven ring/ Alleluia, allelujah/ all the earth will bow and sing..."

The Celtic track "The Kindness of Our God" was very soothing, as Rebecca showed her flexible vocals, while "When the Stars Burn Down (Blessing and Honor)" sounded like part two to "In A Moment," with similar lyrics of adoration to our God.

"Almighty God" was a definite highlight from I Will Praise You, with lyrics taken almost directly from Psalm 46. I greatly enjoyed the built-up bridge: "We will not fear, we will not fear/ though the earth give way/ He is strong to save..." "You Hold Me Now," an awesome Hillsong track, was another favorite of mine from Rebecca's new project. Although it was nearly identical to that sung by Jad Gillies on Hillsong's Faith+Hope+Love album, I enjoyed the beautiful piano addition to this track. "You Make Everything Beautiful," based on Ecclesiates 3 closed the album on a very soothing closing track.

It was well worth the wait for a new project from Rebecca St. James. I Will Praise You is an awesome worship project featuring some well-known worship tracks, as well as brand new worship songs sure to make you sing along. Highlights of this album are "Almighty God," "The Kindness of Our God," the title track and "You Hold Me Now." Check out this album April 5th!

Rating: 4.5/5

Track listing:
1. I Will Praise You
2. You Never Let Go
3. Shine Your Glory Down
4. You Still Amaze Me
5. In A Moment
6. The Kindness of Our God
7. When the Stars Burn Down (Blessing and Honor)
8. Almighty God
9. You Hold Me Now
10. You Make Everything Beautiful

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

1 comment:

  1. Good album review for the new worship album from Rebecca St. James called I Will Praise You. I loved the whole album but I have listened to it four times already. I hope to listen to it a lot more when I get my free copy of it in my mailbox some time soon :) I would say my favorites would I Will Praise You, You Never Let Go, You Hold Me Now, and many more. All of the songs on this album were real good. I also own her Worship God which was her first worship album with Forefront Records and it is a real good album. Check it out if you haven't heard it yet. But I would say that Worship God did have some more cover songs on them but still they were good cover songs too. It is good to see she did only two cover songs on this album and did more of her own worship songs that I loved hearing. I would say once you listen to the album more than once then you love it more that is what I found when I listened to it more than once. Anyways looking forward to having my copy of this album real soon :)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.