Thursday, April 7, 2011

Love Divine: The Songs of Charles Wesley For Today's Generation Review

On April 19th, Kingsway Records releases Love Divine, a thirteen-track tribute to Charles Wesley. Featuring familiar vocal talent from such artists as Tim Hughes, Leigh Nash, Chris Eaton, Kim Walker-Smith and Chris Quilala (Jesus Culture), Brenton Brown, Jason Roy, and more, Love Divine is definitely an album that any hymn lover will want to add to their collection.

Each song is familiar, though different, as a wide selection of recognizable worship artists lead these hymns we all know by heart. Some of these beloved hymns include, "O For A Thousand Tongues to Sing," "And Can It Be," "Jesus Lover of My Soul," "Come Thou Long Expected Jesus," "Love Divine," and "Christ the Lord is Risen." All thirteen tracks were quite enjoyable, and easy to sing along with. Hands down, my favorite track on this record was "And Can It Be," covered perfectly by Building 429's very own Jason Roy. I also enjoyed hearing from the worship leaders of Jesus Culture, Aaron Keyes, Leigh Nash, and many more.

The mix of styles was also appreciated. Some of the covers were upbeat and musically creative, such as Mark Roach's version of "Christ Whose Glory Fills the Skies," and Brian Johnson's "Come Thou Long Expected Jesus," while most tracks on this record were slower, beautiful, and very worshipful.

I definitely recommend that the hymn lover add Love Divine to their collection upon its release on April 19th. Be sure to check out Jason Roy's memorable version of "And Can It Be," one of the most beautiful renditions of a hymn I've heard in a while! For the above reasons, this reviewer chooses to rate Kingsway Record's Love Divine a 4/5.

Track listing:
1. I Know That My Redeemer Lives – Tim Hughes
2. Rejoice The Lord Is King – John Ellis
3. And Can It Be – Jason Roy
4. Jesus We Look To Thee – Kim Walker – Smith
5. Jesus Lover Of My Soul – Chris Eaton
6. Come Thou Long Expected Jesus – Brian Johnson
7. Praise The Lord Who Reigns Above – Leigh Nash
8. Jesus The Name High Over All – Chris Quilala
9. O For A Thousand Tongues To Sing – Chris McClarney
10. Love Divine – Jenn Johnson
11. Christ The Lord Is Risen Today – Aaron Keyes
12. Christ Whose Glory Fills The Skies – Mark Roach
13. O For A Heart To Praise my God – Brenton Brown


  1. Wow. I'm really looking forward to checking this one out. Charles Wesley and Isaac Watts were lyrical gangstas. Can't wait to see how their tunes were reinvented here!

  2. It looks like a good album. I know I already love And Can It Be by Jason Roy from Building 429 as it is a real good song :) I will have to check it out as soon as I can :)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.