Monday, April 18, 2011

Laura Story: Blessings Review

Laura Story, writer of the popular worship anthem "Indescribable," is back with her second INO Records album, Blessings. Blessings is full of ten new worship tracks sure to make an impact on the listener. From the start, with the upbeat worship track "This is the Day," to the ending track "Faithful God," Laura sings hymn-like worship songs, that remind us of the goodness and faithfulness of God, and encourage us to sing along.

The opening track, "This is the Day," was an almost perfect Resurrection song, a song of praise for how God has taken us and changed us, and was based on Psalm 118:24 with these memorable lyrics: "This is the day of my salvation/ I will rejoice with a song of praise/ this is the day of my salvation/ I will rejoice in Christ, my salvation." The upbeat keyboard music was highly enjoyable, and opened Laura Story's Blessings album well. "Friend of Sinners," equally upbeat, and "You Are Love," on the slower side of things with gorgeous piano, follow, singing of the goodness of God, and all the things He is and has done for us. "You Are Love" was definitely a highlight from the album."

"What A Savior" carries the sentiment of Laura Story's cover of the Hillsong worship song "Mighty to Save," with gorgeous strings that definitely made this track about how amazing our Savior is, stick out on the Blessings album. The title track follows, mostly piano-based. Although I wasn't entirely sure I agreed with the message of the track, the beautiful piano, mixed with the message that sometimes God's answer comes in the absence of what we are praying for, was a nice listen.

The bassy drums of "Your Name Will Be Praised" was a nice addition to this track, as the contemporary sound of "One Life to Lose," combined perfectly with the message of how God has paid the ultimate price, and the least that we can give Him is all of our life back as an offering. "Prodigal Son" is a beautiful and touching track, telling the story of Henry, a boy who left his home, and his father who prays daily for his return. The strings were an added bonus to this perfect track, but also made things a touch more emotional.

"Remember," almost entirely piano and bass, showed off Laura's amazing songwriting ability, in this timeless prayer, asking God to help us to never forget the things that Jesus has done for us: "Father, Son, and Holy Spirit come/ Move our hearts to remember." "Faithful God," the ending track, was my favorite from Laura Story's Blessings album. At first, though it sounded as if it would be a slower worship track, it build up nicely, especially by the second chorus, with booming drums. At the same time, "Faithful God" is a beautiful track reminding us of the faithfulness of God, and all that He has done for us. Nearing the end of the track, a full choir comes in, making for an all-around enjoyable track, and definitely one of my favorites from Laura's Story's Blessings album.

Laura is a very talented songwriter, and her style of worship is very enjoyable as well. Through just ten tracks, Laura offers encouraging tracks, reminding us of God's goodness and faithfulness, even through tough times in our lives. Her second INO Records album Blessings is definitely worth checking out if you are a fan of contemporary worship music!

Rating: 4/5

Track listing:
1. This is The Day
2. Friend of Sinners
3. You Are Love
4. What A Savior
5. Blessings
6. Your Name Will Be Praised
7. One Life to Lose
8. Prodigal Son
9. Remember
10. Faithful God


  1. What is it that keeps you from agreeing with the title track, Blessings. My family and I love hearing that song on K-Love! What do you see wrong with it, if you don't care to answer?

  2. it sounds really good, and i love the song 'blessings' :) i just might have to break and spend my money on it ;)

    -anna :)

  3. Good album review I enjoyed it and I would say my favorites I have heard so far are Blessings, What A Savior, and Faithful God :)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.