Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Glenn Packiam: The Kingdom Comes Review

You will recognize Glenn Packiam as part of Desperation Band and New Life Worship. Now, Glenn is back with his sophomore project, The Kingdom Comes (a digital-only release), an awesome worship project. Featuring six new worship tracks, a bonus track, and a chapter's reading from Glenn's new book Lucky: How the Kingdom Comes to Unlikely People, Glenn's The Kingdom Comes EP is a must-have for modern worship fans, especially those of Aaron Shust.

The awesome "Our Messiah Reigns" kicks off the EP with powerful, timeless lyrics of the majesty of Jesus, and leads into "All Things," a piano-based contemporary track with awesome lyrics from Romans 8 -- that all things work together for the good of those who God and are called according to His purpose.

"Forgiven Forever" was another timeless track of worship, but was highlighted by the fantastic bridge which built things up. I enjoyed the musical outro to this track as well, which kept the worshipful music going for an extra minute or so. "Praise Is the Offering" reminded me very much of Aaron Shust's more upbeat tracks, as Glenn sings about bringing the sacrifice of praise to God.

"Everlasting God," was probably my favorite from Glenn's The Kingdom Comes EP, as the strings and keyboard mixed absolutely perfectly with the heart-felt worship lyrics, and Glenn's outstanding vocals. "At the Cross" sounded very hymn-like, closing off the main part of the album with another amazing song.

Glenn also adds a half-hour reading of the first chapter of his book Lucky: How the Kingdom of God Comes to Unlikely People. I enjoyed hearing Glenn's thoughts on the blessing of the Lord, and I thought that the half-hour podcast was rather enjoyable. The EP closes with the Bonus Track, a soothing acoustic mix of "Forgiven Forever."

In addition, the iTunes version features two exclusive tracks "God Has Come" and "This Is Our God" bonus tracks not available on the standard EP download.

I very much enjoyed Glenn Packiam's The Kingdom Comes album. I would especially recommend this album to fans of Aaron Shust, as this EP sounded nearly identical to Aaron's music, something I thought was rather cool. Glenn's amazing songwriting and beautiful worship music was awesome as well. Be sure to check this project out April 5th!

Rating: 4/5
Release date: April 5, 2011

Track listing:
1. Our Messiah Reigns
2. All Things
3. Forgiven Forever
4. Praise Is the Offering
5. Everlasting God
6. At the Cross (Hallelujah)
7. Reading of Chapter 1 from "Lucky: How the Kingdom Comes to Unlikely People
8. Bonus Track: Forgiven Forever Acoustic Mix
9. Bonus Track: God Has Come (iTunes Only)
10. Bonus Track: This is Our God (iTunes Only)

1 comment:

  1. Good album review I enjoyed it and I will check it out as soon as I can :)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.