Tuesday, April 5, 2011

FM Static: My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go Review

The anticipated follow up to FM Static's 2009 release Dear Diary is finally here with My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go. Featuring the radio pop single "Last Train Home," and nine other punk/pop tracks, Fm Static only proves to the world that they are getting better with each record.

The upbeat title track gets things rocking, with almost rap-like lyrics and great lyrics: "I'm here to let ya know/ can't trust what you think you know/ don't follow that yellow brick road/ when your brain says stop but your heart says go." Overall, I believe that the title track was the best track on FM Static's new record. The rocker "F.M.S.T.A.T.I.C" was cool, talking about FM Static's mission as a band, although I didn't particularly care for the cheerleaders section of this track.

"(Hey) I Want It" is sure to get stuck in your head, and you will almost definitely find yourself singing the simple lyrics of the track along. "Lost In You," seemed a bit lame, but the lyrics of how good God is and how we are lost in His love was very encouraging.

"U Don't Know Me Like That" was unarguably one of the best tracks on FM Static's new album, a totally upbeat punk track with tons of very enjoyable fill-ins. It challenges those who look down on us judgmentally, and is definitely one track that fans will be singing along with.

"Cinnamon and Lipstick" was a bit odd lyrically, speaking to someone (possibly a girlfriend) that the writer hasn't seen in a while, but I very much loved the poppy tempo sure to make you move. "Black Tattoo" sounds very similar to Thousand Foot Krutch's "Forward Motion" (no surprise), and tells the story of a girl who ran away from home and needs to forget about the past. I enjoyed the slower, Skillet-like tempo to this song.

The radio single "Last Train Home," speaks of repairing broken relationships and is a very enjoyable piano pop track, while "Breaking Me Again" was a little too similar to "Black Tattoo," even though I really enjoyed the bridge filled with a long strand of "oooohs." "Inside Out" finished the album on a bit of a slower note, speaking of the challenges of being a junior high student.

I really enjoyed FM Static's new project My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go. I've always been more of a fan of Thousand Foot Krutch than FM Static, but My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go is full of catchy pop tracks as well as slower ballads, and was just altogether a very fun album. Be sure to check out this album today!

Rating: 4.5/5
Release date: April 5, 2011

Track listing:
1. My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go
2. F.M.S.T.A.T.I.C.
3. (Hey) I Want It
4. Lost In You
5. U Don't Know Me Like That
6. Cinnamon and Lipstick
7. Black Tattoo
8. Last Train Home
9. Breaking Me Again
10. Inside Out


  1. Nice review,was never really a fan of Fm Static,but I guess I will have to check them out

  2. Good album review I enjoyed it ;) I love this album from FM Static and I hope to get it as soon as I can :)

  3. I like their music, but they never seem to be too outspoken about their Christianity. TFK is better about that, but not much. I wish they'd sing more for the glory of God than for the glory of the world. But hey, at least they're not Family Force 5. ;)

  4. Awesome review, check my blog if you have the time. http://summeranddusk.blogspot.com/ :)
    I review about bands. happy to share and exchange informations with you.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.