Monday, March 28, 2011

Tidewater: The Seas We Sail Review

Tidewater's The Seas We Sail project is a re-release of this popular project from Brett Allen, full of relatable lyrics and catchy music. Brett's flexible vocals, and the nice mandolin, piano, and acoustic guitar mixture make for a surprisingly enjoyable project.

It's not hard to start hand-clapping along with the opening track "Taking Me A While," which actually has two parts, stopping briefly to open up in a more guitar-driven tempo. The relationship lyrics were enjoyable, as was Brett's voice that reminded me of Downhere's lead singer Marc. The more piano based "Surrounded" follows, but also kept the upbeat sound up. The instrumentals in the middle of the track were very enjoyable as well.

The tropical sounding "Voices" was a clear highlight from the project, and would be one of the tracks that brings in the Switchfoot sound that Tidewater has to offer. For this track, I enjoyed the fill-ins of the chorus very much, as they definitely added to the excellency of this track. "Closer," a slower track," and "Where You Are" were highlighted by their cool sound effects, although "Where You Are" sounded a bit too similar to the opening track, "Taken Me A While." It's percussion however, was thoroughly enjoyable.

"City Lights" is love song, speaking of taking a trip to St. Louis, and is followed by "Guard," unarguably the best track on TIdewater's The Seas We Sail project. Full of driving guitars, this track is sure to make you move and attempt to sing along. "Far Away," as well, sounded much like the opening track, speaking into the heart of someone who is running away, encouraging them to come back.

"Goodbye" seemed a tadbit typical with it's message of loneliness to an old friend, and is followed by "Times We Never Had," equally sad sounding, but putting a nice and relaxing end to Tidewater's The Seas We Sail Project.

I didn't know quite what to expect from Tidewater's new project, but it was definitely worth the listen. Tidewater's mix of styles will remind the listener of Downhere in some places, Owl City or The City Harmonic in others, and Switchfoot for most of the time. However, the usage of the mandolin added a ton to this record, as did Brett's variation of lyrics, mostly focused on relationships. Check out Tidewater's The Seas We Sail project today if you are a fan of any of the above!

Rating: 4/5

Track listing:
1. Taken Me a While
2. Surrounded
3. Voices
4. Closer
5. Where You Are
6. City Lights
7. Guard
8. Far Away
9. Goodbye
10. Times We Never Had

1 comment:

  1. Good album review I enjoyed it :) I will also check out this album as soon as I can :)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.