Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Parachute Band: Love Without Measure Review

Back in 2007, the Parachute band underwent a series of changes, coming out of this change as the "next gen" Parachute band. Under this lineup, the band has released two projects, Roadmaps & Revelations and Technicolor, and will be releasing their third project Love Without Measure February 1st, 2011 to Integrity Records.

Love Without Measure is off to an excellent beginning with "Gave It All," which features an upbeat and bit of an electric sound speaking of how God became broken to take away our sins: "You gave it all for me/ holding nothing back You were broken/ all heaven is open/ all for me/ You gave it all for me..." I wasn't sure what to expect from this album at first, but this track gave me a high appreciation for the album, and prepared me for what I was about to hear. "My Constant" follows as a highly catchy track about love being our only constant, followed by "Peace on Earth," which leans on the slower side of things. Practically Isaiah 60 put to music with a few additions here and there, this track was very enjoyable.

"You Remain" seemed to be the most worshipful track on the record, leaning on the slower side of things, speaking of how Jesus is always there to carry us through what we are going through: "Jesus, You've carried me this far/ I'll hold onto this hope inside my heart/ When all else fades/ You remain..." "It's You," featuring guest vocals from Martin Smith (Delirious?), carries the same sentiment, speaking of how God is the only one who can see behind the shame and pain in our lives and how He can make a way past it.

"The Reedemed" is a beautiful track composed mostly of beautiful piano music based on Psalm 107:2: "Let the redeemed of the Lord say so," as "Saviour of the Broken Heart" is a lyrically rich worship song praising Jesus for all that He is and all He has done for us: "King of hope/ sacrificed your own life/ giving all a second chance/ break our hearts to see the need in this world/ king of hope Your kingdom come." "You Got Me" is lyrically-simple, yet very catchy. speaking of how Jesus had all of us as soon as we found Him and saw all He had to offer. After all of these slower worship songs, "Anthem of My Heart" comes rolling in, in a certainly "anthemic" way. Full of booming drums and chanting lyrics, this track is sure to provoke fist-throwing as you chant along with this highly catchy track.

"So Much More" slows down the album, preparing the listener for the closing of the Love Without Measure album. A wonderful worship song, "So Much More" declares the goodness of God in an awesome manner. With easy-to-remember lyrics, I would definitely say that this track is one of the highlights from the Parachute Band's latest project. "Sweet Surrender" ends Parachute Band's third album with a slower worship song surrendering all we have to God, as a declaration that He is all we are living for. One thing I greatly enjoyed about this track was the male vocalist's wide range of vocals that appeared throughout the track. "Soar" is an additional soft instrumental that carries the sentiment of the whole Love Without Measure album and puts a good ending to it.

Love Without Measure from Parachute Band is mostly Hillsong-like worship songs, with some of the tracks seeming a little repetitious. Nevertheless, the tracks on this album are very worshipful and many are rather catchy, making this album more than a typical worship album. I very much enjoyed the mix-up of the slower worship songs, as well as the upbeat catchy tracks, and would recommend this album to contemporary worship fans of Hillsong, Lincoln Brewster, Gateway Worship, Jesus Culture, Kari Jobe, and similar acts. Every listener will enjoy the heartfelt worship that Parachute Band has to offer.

Rating: 4/5

Releases February 1st, 2011! Learn more about the new album here!

Track listing:
1. Gave it All
2. My Constant
3. Peace On Earth
4. You Remain
5. It's You (featuring Martin Smith)
6. The Redeemed
7. Saviour of the Broken Heart
8. You Got Me
9. Anthem of My Heart
10. So Much More
11. Sweet Surrender
12. Soar (2 Samuel 22)

1 comment:

  1. There are 9 songs from Parachute Band available for free and legal doewnload:


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.