Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Shannon Wexelburg: Love Came For Me

When I first heard about Shannon Wexelberg, I expected mostly slower, peaceful songs backed up by nice piano. I was both right and wrong. True, Shannon’s music does contain quite a few peaceful piano tracks, but also features several nice upbeat contemporary tracks as well. In Love Came For Me, Shannon’s beautiful voice, soothing music, and Christmas tracks combine to form a nearly perfect Christmas album.

“Joy to the World” is a classic known to almost everybody. However, in Shannon’s moderately upbeat track, she chose to change the melody of the song, making for an all-new enjoyable listen. Shannon’s emphatic singing of the added line: “Joy to the world/ joy to you and me” seemed to really made the track. Therefore, “Joy to the World” was one of the main highlights of the Love Came For Me Christmas album from Shannon. “Good Christmas Men, Rejoice,” follows, a gorgeous, and almost playful instrumental composed of piano and drums as well as flutes and horns, making this track a perfect “addition” to the first track on the album. Honestly, I can’t get enough of this instrumental! :)

“The Magnificat,” written by Shannon, is based on Luke 1:45-48 when Mary said, “My soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for He has been mindful of the humble state of his servant. From now on all generations will call me blessed, for the Mighty One has done great things for me – holy is His name.” I very much enjoyed the accompaniment of the strings that were added to the track, as well as Shannon’s beautiful voice. The only one thing I wished is that she had gone into more of the Luke passage. For instance, the track said “He has filled the hungry with good things,” but never mentioned “and the rich He has sent away empty.” Nevertheless, the four-minute song seemed very complete the way it was, and I enjoyed hearing this new Christmas carol from Shannon. Next, Shannon covers Charles Wesley’s “Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus,” in a serene way, paving the way perfectly for “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” which sounds very similar. Both songs, although slow, were very enjoyable, and definitely ideal for Christmas songs.

“This Child,” also a beautiful brand new Christmas carol from Shannon, is one of the best songs on the album, in my opinion. Not only were the lyrics very moving, the background male vocals were a huge asset to the track. “Angels from the Realms of Glory” was made by the way Shannon sang it rather fast-paced, and the way the track built as Shannon began singing a “hallelujah” bridge. “What Child is This?” and “O Holy Night” also followed, very peaceful and soothing, but definitely enjoyable.

I didn’t enjoy “Christmas Morning” as much as I enjoyed the rest of the tracks on Shannon’s Love Came For Me album, but I did enjoy the message of the song based on Philippians 2:6-8 that Jesus came in the flesh and condemned sin. I also enjoyed how Shannon blended the end of this song into “O Come, O Come All Ye Faithful which was perfect for the track. Finally, Love Came For Me ends with the title track, a gorgeous piano and cello based track praising God for all that He has saved us from, and contemplating where we would be if it weren’t for Him. It definitely put an awesome end to Love Came For Me, as a wonderful Christmas album.

Shannon’s gorgeous voice and the beautiful piano and strings made for a wonderful Christmas album. I especially enjoyed the first few upbeat tracks, but Shannon’s music will not bore listeners, especially those who enjoy peaceful music such as this. This is a great Christmas album to add to your collection!

Rating: 4/5

Track listing:
1. Joy to the World
2. Good Christian Men, Rejoice
3. The Magnificat
4. Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus
5. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
6. This Child
7. Angels From the Realms of Glory
8. What Child is This?
9. O Holy Night
10. Christmas Morning
11. Love Came For Me


  1. I assumed slow peaceful musik when I first saw it too. Never judge a CD by its cover. :)

  2. Where's the link to download the album??????? :-/

  3. Here: http://amzn.to/fpH5pF :D


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.