Thursday, November 18, 2010

Newsboys: Christmas! A Newsboys Holiday Review

Newsboys are back again with Christmas! A Newsboys Holiday. Remaking five classic Christmas carols in the Newsboys style, this Christmas EP is sure to become a classic in the coming years.

“All I Want for Christmas is You” opens the EP with a pop/rock classic track sure to provoke the listener to go ahead and clap along. Singing about wanting a loved one for Christmas rather than any presents from Santa Claus, new lead singer Michael Tait’s voice is the perfect accompaniment for the upbeat pop. “Jingle Bell Rock” follows, containing a similar sound to the Born Again hits, encouraging head-bopping to this highly popular Christmas carol.

Aptly, things slow down a touch with “O Holy Night.” This wonderful Christmas carol is made perfect by the Newsboys, who placed emphasis on the bass and keyboards in this track. Again, Michael’s voice was perfect for this carol, as the tune was slightly different than you would find in Christmas choir books. I also enjoyed the way the track built up throughout, making for a non-mundane track. “Winter Wonderland” has an enjoyable upbeat swing beat to it, and definitely seems like a track that the Newsboys poured themselves into.

Finally, the five song EP closes with “The Christmas Song,” actually a track from Tait’s solo project. This version is remarkably similar to the original 1944 version, even featuring old-sounding keys and strings. Michael sung vocals outstandingly, especially on the line “chestnuts roasting on an open fire.” Altogether, this track is highly enjoyable, containing an old, peaceful Christmas feel to it.

Newsboys are already in the “Christmas spirit” with Christmas! A Newsboys Holiday. Every song is highly enjoyable, and is sung magnificently by the recently replaced Michael Tait formerly from dcTalk. Every listener will get a good listen from this project, especially “The Christmas Song.” Go get and enjoy this project – you won’t regret it!

Rating: 5/5
Track listing:

1. All I Want For Christmas Is You
2. Jingle Bell Rock
3. O Holy Night
4. Winter Wonderland
5. The Christmas Song


  1. Great Review Jay! You make me want to go out and grab a copy myself! Keep up the awesome work Jay.


    - Rescued_By_God from Twitter

  2. I heard the 30 second clip of "O Holy Night" on amazon, and it sounds ARSOME!!! I REALLY like how they pump up the bass. :D Did I mention I play bass guitar? 0:D

    Can't wait for the full album! :D

  3. @Rescued_By_God: Thanks so much! I appreciate your leaving a comment, and I'm glad you enjoyed the review!

    @Brickster: Cool! I did not know that you played bass. I'll have to hear it sometimes. :)

  4. The EP sounds awesome! I really want to hear it! And now after reading your review, I want to so much more! :D

  5. Thanks Justin! I'm glad you enjoyed the review! :)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.