Thursday, November 11, 2010

Jesus Culture: Come Away Review

California-based worship band Jesus Culture is back with their fifth worship project Come Away. Recorded live in Redding with Chris, Kim, and the rest of the Jesus Culture band, Come Away delivers a live worship project full of cries from the heart, and shares an earnest desire to be refreshed in the rain of revival.

“Come Away,” the title track is the first on the ten-track record. Sung by Chris, this worship song is written from the perspective of God to His children, based on Jeremiah 29:11: “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”  “Come Away” opens the project well, already off to a deep praise and worship start. I admired both the booming drums that are contained here, and Chris’ perfect voice, which sounds much like Hillsong’s Joel Houston.

“Rooftops,” housing a bit of a faster tempo, but still relatively slow, is sung by Kim, whose voice sounds quite a bit like Dove-award winner Natalie Grant. While listening to this track, it is easy to be reminded of Luke 12:3: "Therefore whatever you have spoken in the dark will be heard in the light, and what you have spoken in the ear in inner rooms will be proclaimed on the housetops.” “Rooftops” sings from the opposite point of view: “So I’ll shout out Your name/ from the rooftops I’ll proclaim/ that I am Yours/ I am Yours!”

“You Are My Passion,” also sung by Kim, echoed Hillsong’s blockbuster hit “Mighty to Save,” proving Jesus Culture’s Hillsong similarity. The pre-chorus proved to be extremely encouraging and lifting as well as worship-provoking: “My strength in life is I am Yours/ My soul delights because I am Yours/ Your will on earth is all I’m living for.” “I Want to Know You” follows, beginning first with a barely audible choir that sets the peaceful atmosphere of this track. I really admired Chris’ heartfelt singing that seemed to come out from the bottom of his heart. It is nearly impossible to sit through this track without worshiping along with the Jesus Culture band.

“My Soul longs for You” was a bit repetitious, which actually seemed to make this track a highlight of Come Away. The way that Chris opened up the track with prayer seemed very real and authentic, making it a very enjoyable listen. “Freedom Reigns” seemed to be a prologue to “Let It Rain,” the following track on the record. As it’s name implies, it is an encouragement to bask in the freedom that comes from the Spirit’s presence. The lyrics of “Let It Rain” are very simple, yet profound: “We feel the rains of Your love/ We feel the winds of Your Spirit/ But now the heartbeat of heaven/ let us hear/ Let it rain/ let it rain/ Open up the floodgates of heaven.”

“Mighty Breath of God” is similar, both lyrically and musically to Hillsong United’s “Consuming Fire,” being a cry for God to consume our lives with His presence. “Show Me Your Glory,” also remarkably similar to Hillsong style, is a cry to see the glory of God like Moses did (“flashes of lighting and rolls of thunder/ I’m not afraid/ no, I’m not afraid/ show me Your glory). I did find this to be another highlight of the Come Away worship project from Jesus Culture. I also found it to be quite deep and worshipful, and likely one that will resonate with the listener.

Finally, Come Away comes to a close with “One Thing Remains,” a track actually co-written by Jeremy Riddle. That fact is not very surprising, however, since it does sound remarkably like Jeremy’s radio hit “Sweetly Broken.” “One Thing Remains,” is a song of praise to God for His love which never fails. I enjoyed the fast singing of the chorus: “On and on and on it goes/ it overwhelmes and satisfies my soul/ and I never ever have to be afraid/ one thing remains.” Just when you think the album is over, it opens back up for another two minutes with an upbeat instrumental of “One Thing Remains.”

I very much enjoyed taking a listen to Jesus Culture’s live worship project Come Away. Although the album was not highly paced or upbeat, it has a way of reaching into the heart of the listener and speaking to him. It is wonderful to listen to for encouragement and worship. For these reasons, Hillsong lovers will most likely enjoy this project from the Jesus Culture band.

Rating: 4.5/5

Releases November 23, 2010! Preorder your copy at:

Track listing:
1. Come Away
2. Rooftops
3. You Are My Passion
4. I Want To Know You
5. My Soul Longs for You
6. Freedom Reigns
7. Let It Reign
8. Mighty Breath Of God
9. Show Me Your Glory
10. One Thing Remains

Disclaimer: I was given this album for review on my site. However, all opinions are 100% mine, and do not necessarily represent those of the artist, label, or management. Thank you.


  1. Jesus Culture is nothing like Hillsong in my opinion. While Hillsong's albums are for the sake of having an annual album, Jesus Culture actually captures a worship experience.

  2. Thanks for your comment. I think that both groups are out for making true worship, and not for the money. I also think that Hillsong has some of the best worship music available!

  3. Although Hillsong may sound more "commercial", I think they do a great job and I can come to worship God with their songs, however Jesus Culture has something that makes a difference and their songs are so much deeper in worship God. Nevertheless, both bands praise and worship God and this has to become in the most important thing. We are not to record albums and "make money", we are here because we need to worship God with everything we do, and doing this cause a positive impact in the hopeless people.


  4. at 66 years old, i absolutely loved this album. i put it on my mp3 and can listen for hours as it takes me into deep worship. how wonderful. thank you jesus culture!!!!!

  5. Such a firey album. I get wacked all the time listening to it.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.