Sunday, August 22, 2010

Group1Crew Spacebound EP: Review

Group1Crew recently released Spacebound, a five track EP with tracks featured from their upcoming fall 2010 release. “Breakdown,” “Beautiful,” “Walking On The Stars,” “Live It Up,” and “Manipulation” are the five tracks presented on the EP. All sounding futuristic, and definitely “spacey,” the style of this EP is definitely new from Group1Crew. But as the band’s lyrics say in “Breakdown”: “We didn’t lose our sound, we just got better.” It took me a little getting used to, but I think it is a step in the right direction for Group 1 Crew.

“Live It Up” was my favorite from the EP, because it consisted of a very powerful techno beat, and the trio’s voices sounded a bit electric. “Walking On the Stars,” Group1Crew’s radio hit from the album, is a bit slower and a beautiful track all about how God rescued us from “myself and all I do”: “You got me walking on/ walking on the stars.” I particularly enjoyed the second verse where Blanca’s “hey’s” serve as a background for the rap. “Manipulation” begins as would a typical hip-hop song, but builds by the chorus when Blanca sings the lyrics “It’s All Over!” to which the beat builds tremendously and Manwell says the word “Manipulation” in a series. This song also gives Blanca a chance to rap on the second verse.

“Beautiful” is a song about being yourself. Sung by Blanca, the song is directed especially to girls and young women that they are “b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l.” Finally, there’s “Breakdown,” the first track from the EP that was released for our listening enjoyment. “Breakdown” is probably the most upbeat track on the EP. It talks about Group1Crew’s sudden change of style, their purpose, and why they do what they do.

As previously stated, it took me a little time before getting used to the new style of Group1Crew, but I am glad they took this step. Every song is futuristic, making the EP’s title Spacebound quite apt. This is an EP that I would recommend to Group1Crew fans, and is likely one that Falling Up fans will enjoy as well, for the style. This is a great EP!

Rating: 4.5/5
Release date: June 8, 2010

Track listing:
1. Breakdown
2. Beautiful
3. Walking On the Stars
4. Live It Up
5. Manipulation


  1. Oh wow, I heard the song "Walking on the Stars" from the free download, and I didn't know that it was gonna be related to 'spacey'-ish. And when I first heard it, I kept thinking that the music was so much reminded me about space! This is so cool! :D

  2. It's totally futuristic and "spacey"ish! It's pretty cool, but it does take a little getting used to. I think some of the songs are up on youtube if you want to hear them. I may even post one or two of them here on my site!

  3. Oh cool! I have listened to the whole EP, and bought three of the tracks. :D "Live It Up" is my favorite! :D "Breakdown" is really good too. I think their new sound is great, and is in my opinion better. :D

    P.S. Do you know the exact release date for "Outta Space Love"? :D

  4. Hi Brickster!! It comes out September 21st, less than a month away!! :)

  5. YIPPEE!! Thanks, Jay! (and happy birthday!!!:D)


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.