Saturday, November 7, 2009

Avalon "Reborn" Review

I’ve been a really big Avalon fan for a couple of years now. I am particularly fond of the records from The Creed on. The thing that I find most enjoyable is the vocal talent of the band, and how they always seem to put their hearts into singing. So needless to say, I was thrilled when I found out that they would be releasing an album entitled, Reborn.

I had heard that this album would be completely different from any other Avalon project to date. This week I added Reborn to my CD collection. This latest Avalon album is the first full-length album to include married couple Jeremi and Amy Richardson. At first, I was disappointed with the album, particularly because I couldn’t tell the difference between the voices -- they seemed to be blended together. But the album quickly grew on me as I listened. In fact, I am now of the opinion that having two new members really adds to the band. It became apparent to me that the style, in fact, IS different from previous records, but there is also some similarity to The Creed.

Reborn opens up strongly with the title track. All four Avalon members offer their musical talents in this song. It is this song that explains the cover art of the album: “Like a summer rain making a desert bloom/ You’ve opened my thirsty heart/ and now I have been renewed.” This song explains a grateful heart to God for capturing our hearts with His love. This song was actually a little surprising, because it features a little guitar work that Avalon has never had before. This same feature appears several times in the album.

The second song on the album, and definitely my favorite on the album is totally unlike Avalon, but is addicting! This song is entitled, “Alive”. I love the lyrics in the chorus: “I can feel my heart beating within/ finally I’m breathing again/ won’t let this chance go by/ watch me while I come alive/ every second You awaken my soul/ rushing over me/ taking control/ right before my very eyes/ watch me while I come alive.” I really can’t get enough of this song! It’s more fast-paced singing than Avalon is used to. “Feel” is another excellent song that shows off Amy’s voice. Although it doesn’t fit in the usual Avalon pattern, it is excellent! This song speaks of wanting to actually have a real love for God, stating that “I’m tired of apathetic love”.

“Destined” is one of two songs that I could tell for sure was Janna on the main vocals- probably the reason it was at first listen, my favorite song. This song’s lyrics share why a relationship with God was destined from the beginning of time. The following track, entitled “Stay” is sung almost entirely by Greg. In this song, God is speaking to someone who is at their lowest point. The part of this song that gets me every time is, “I know you feel that what you find here is less than the world has to give/ But when did the world ever lay its life down so that you might live?” “Angels” is a beautiful song depicting the glory of God when He comes to take us home. My favorite part of this song is the beautiful second verse sung by Amy.

The second to last song on this album is creatively named, “California.” It is definitely one of my favorites, and it is asking God to send us somewhere far that we may share the gospel. “California/ far from me/ across the desert to the sea/ a million miles away/ to somewhere I don’t know/ lift my feet from where I stand/ down the street to foreign lands/ anywhere You lead me I will go.” Finally, the last song on this album is, “Holy,” a cover of a song by Radiant Worship. This song is very special to me, because it is the story of Isaiah, after he saw the glory of the Lord, and said, “Woe is me for I am a man of unclean lips”. This passage in Scripture is special to me; so is the song!

This album is excellent! It seems to me like Greg and Janna let Jeremi and Amy take the lead vocals so that Avalon fans could get used to the change. The style is very different from previous efforts, but I am addicted to the change! I have actually listened to the album so much that I’m a little tired of it, yet it is still my favorite album. This album is definitely a 5- star album! This album is one that you will want to add to your collection if you have been an Avalon fan for years, or are interested in their radio singles. Get this album!

Rating: 5/5
Release date: September 29, 2009

Track listing:
1. Reborn
2. Alive
3. Arise
4. Feel
5. Fragile
6. Destined
7. Stay
8. Angels
9. California
10. Holy

1 comment:

  1. I agree, 9.5 out of 10. I bought 4 albums last weeked and Avalon keeps getting played over and over again. The other 3 couldn't come close.


Thank you for commenting! All comments are moderated and may take time to process.